Our board

The board is responsible for the effective running of the hospital in line with established objectives and priorities.  It also has a duty to consult and involve governors in the strategic planning of the organisation.

The board is made up of eight non-executive directors, one of whom is the chairman and six executive directors.

Members of the public are invited to attend open meetings of the Board which are held six times a year in January, March, May, July, September and November.

For further details or registered interests please contact the Trust Secretary on 0191 445 3712.


Alison Marshall, chair of the board

Chair - Alison Marshall

Alison is a qualified lawyer and a former partner at Dickinson Dees LLP. She joined Gateshead Health as Chair in October 2019. She joined the organisation from Northumbria Healthcare where she was a non-executive director since 2017. She is also a non-executive director at Northern Powergrid.



Yvonne Ormston, chief executive

Chief Executive - Yvonne Ormston MBE

Yvonne joined the organisation from the North East Ambulance Service (NEAS), where she has been the chief executive for more than four years, and brings a wealth of experience from across the NHS.




Chief Operating Officer - Joanne Baxter

Joanne is an experienced executive director with more than 30 years’ experience in the NHS. She joined from the North East Ambulance Service (NEAS) where she spent seven years as the Executive Director of Quality, Safety, Innovation and Improvement. 





Executive Directors

Andy Beeby, medical director

Medical Director - Andrew Beeby

Mr Andy Beeby is a Consultant Obstetrician & Gynaecologist and has worked at the Trust for 21 years. He trained in the North East has over 30 years of clinical experience with a special interest in urogynaecology. He was the lead clinician for Obstetrics & Gynaecology at the Trust for 11 years a department that has recently been rated as Outstanding after CQC inspection. 


Jackie Bilcliff, group finance director

Group Director of Finance -  Jackie Bilcliff       

Jackie Bilcliff is our Group Director of Finance and has worked for the Trust since 2014. Jackie qualified in 1996 with CIPFA and has held a number of positions within the private, health and criminal justice sectors..  





Hilary Lloyd, director of nursing and midwifery

Director of Nursing, Midwifery and Quality - Hilary Lloyd

Hilary Lloyd is a qualified nurse and has worked for the Trust since 2011. Hilary qualified in 1989 and has held a number of nursing posts including acute health care, education and research.




Non Executive Directors

Ruth Bonnington, non-executive directorRuth Bonnington
Ruth has been a GP in Gateshead for 22 years and works in a small practice in Bensham where she has been a partner since 1995. 





Shaun Bowron, non-executive director

Shaun Bowron

Shaun has over 30 years of experience in the media industry, across both newspaper and commercial radio sectors. Prior to taking early retirement in 2011 he worked at Board level as Group Operations Director for GMG Radio, a post he had held for over 9 years.



Martin Gannon, non-executive director

Martin Gannon

Cllr Gannon is the leader of Gateshead Council.






Paul Hopkinson, non-executive director

Paul Hopkinson

Paul qualified as a solicitor in 1999 having had a previous career in banking. He currently runs his own legal business advising a small portfolio of public sector organisations in the fields of health and education.He also acts in a voluntary capacity as a school governor and a cancer charity trustee.




David Shilton, non-executive director

David Shilton

David began his career in the NHS as a student nurse in 1975. After qualifying he worked in a number of clinical areas before working as a nurse manager in both the NHS and independent sector. His most recent role was as Executive Nurse Director in South Tyneside, a post he held from April 1993 until his retirement in January 2012.



John Robinson, non-executive director

John Robinson

John Robinson has a professional background in environmental health, with over 40 years’ experience of local Government. He has developed and managed a wide range of services provided by Gateshead Council and led various partnerships involving the Local Community. Before retirement he was Strategic Director, Local Environmental Services.


Mike Robson, non-executive director

Mike Robson

Mike is a public sector accountant. He worked in the NHS for over 34 years having been Director of Finance and Corporate Governance and Deputy Chief Executive at South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust. He previously carried out a similar role at the Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle.

Mike is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of St Oswald’s Hospice. Having previously served as Honorary Treasurer he was appointed as a Vice President in 2007.


Balance of Board Membership and Independence

The Board of Directors is satisfied that its balance and knowledge, skills and experience is appropriate to the Board and its sub-committees.  The Board has evaluated the circumstances and relationships of individual Non-Executive Directors which are relevant to the determination of the presumption of independence and determines all of its Non-Executive Directors to be independent in character and judgement.

Call us on 0191 482 0000

In emergencies dial 999 / Non-emergencies dial 111

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change this and find out more by following this link.
Accept Cookies