There are 32 members of The Council of Governors.

They are voted for in elections held on behalf of the Trust by the Electoral Reform Services.Our Council of Governors is made up as follows:

Public governors:

There are 16 governors who are elected by the public membership constituency in elections.

There are three public constituencies of Central, Western and Eastern Gateshead with seven, six and three governors respectively. You can see a map of the areas covered by each governor here.

Patient governor:

There is one patient governor who is elected by the patient membership constituency in elections. This position is currently vacant.

Staff governors:

There are six staff governors who are elected by the staff membership constituency in elections.

Appointed Governors:

There are nine appointed governors. The organisations authorised by the Trust's constitution to be appointed to the Council of Governors are:

  • Gateshead College
  • Gateshead Council
  • Gateshead Diversity Forum
  • Gateshead Jewish Community Forum
  • Gateshead PCT
  • Gateshead Voluntary Organisations Council
  • Gateshead Youth Council
  • Newcastle University
  • Northumbria University.

The Chair of the Council of Governors is the Chair of the Board of Directors of Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust. The members of the Council of Governors have completed the required declaration forms and none of the Governors or parties related to them has undertaken any material transactions with Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust.

Click here to read the Council of Governors' Annual Report 2018/19.

Got a question for your Governors?

If you have a question that you would like to ask your governors, please either contact the Membership Office on 0191 445 3713 or email


Call us on 0191 482 0000

In emergencies dial 999 / Non-emergencies dial 111

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change this and find out more by following this link.
Accept Cookies